Monday, April 17, 2006

The Eurocon 2006 Results

Eurocon is a convention that takes place in a different European country each year or in every other year. The first time was in 1972, when the organisation behind the convention, ESFS (European Science Fiction Society) was established.

The Eurocon 2006 was held in Kiev, Ukraine. Here's the list of the winners. (I'm glad to see two Hungarians on it.)

The Eurocon-2006 Results:

Best Author
H.L.Oldie (Ukraine)

Best Translator
Asta Morkuniene aka Anita Kapociute (Lithuania)

Best Promoter
Vladimir Borisov (Russia)

Best Magazine
Mir Fantastiki (Russia)

Best Publisher
Hekate (Latvia)

Best Artist
Róbert Odegnál (Hungary)

Best Author of Performance
Alexei Fedorchenko (Russia), for The First Men on the Moon

Best Fanzine
Shaltay-Boltay (Russia)

Encouragement Awards
Sergey Slyusarenko (Ukraine)
Camilla Wandahl (Denmark)
Angelina Ilieva aka Johan Vladimir (Bulgaria)
Marian Coman (Romania)
Jana Juzlova (Czech Republic)
Yulia Galanina (Russia)
Tamás Szalai-Kocsis (Hungary)
Dmitri Gradinar (Moldova)
Dusan Fabian (Slovakia)

Honorary Award: European Grand Master:
Harry Harrison (Ireland)
Arkady and Boris Strugatsky (Russia)

Eurocon 2007 will be held in Copenhagen, Denmark. More info.
Eurocon-2008 will be in Moscow.

Read more about Eurocon and ESFS at


Post a Comment

<< Home

Free Tell A Friend from Free Tell A Friend from